sportstalkflorida.com News

Winston Among Maxwell Award Semifinalists

Seminoles_Jameis_Winston_2013One of the most prestigious awards in college football arguably the most prestigious outside of the Heisman Trophy announced its semifinalists Tuesday morning and, as expected, its a whos who of the 2013 season.

Headlining the group of 16 players named as Maxwell Award semifinalists are the two who have emerged as the front-runners for this years Heisman, Oregons Marcus Mariota and Florida States Jameis Winston. Additionally, Texas A&Ms Johnny Manziel, a finalist for the 2012 version of the award, is included in this years group.

Alabamas AJ McCarron is the only other 2012 semifinalist represented on this years list.

Those four are among the 10 semifinalists who come from the quarterback position. There are four running backs (Arizonas KaDeem Carey, Wisconsins Melvin Gordon, Washingtons Bishop Sankey, Baylors Lache Seastrunk) and two wide receivers (Oregon States Brandin Cooks, Texas A&Ms Mike Evans) as well.

Interestingly, there are only four senior semifinalists: McCarron, Clemsons Tajh Boyd, Fresno States Derek Carr and Georgias Aaron Murray.

Source: John Taylor, NBC Sports


our editors