- - http://www.sportstalkflorida.com -

Tuck: 2014 NFL Salary Cap Space

Posted By Mike Tuck On February 6, 2014 @ 2:18 PM In 1080 Sports,Florida News,Insider Main,main feature,NFL,TO - Mike Tuck Column,TO - Tuck and O'Neill main | No Comments

The job of NFL general manager might be the most difficult of any non-player position in pro sports.  You must deal with a hard cap, balancing out contracts present and future, draft, free agency, and hiring/firing the right people.  There are so many moving parts.  The best make it look easy.  The worst, well, they stand out too.

The NFL pre-signing period begins on March 8 with the officials signings beginning on March 11.  Between now and then a number of players could renegotiate current deals and many more players will be cut loose as teams trim the fat and look for cap space to either resign their own or add new players.

What I think stands out about the numbers below:

– The state of Florida should be on the rise.  The Jags, Dolphins, and Bucs all are in strong position to be active in free agency and build on their youthful rosters.

– Bad teams with a chance to turn things around, especially the Cleveland Browns.  As bad as it’s been for them, they have a ton of young talent, only a couple notable free agents of their own (TJ Ward and Alex Mack), and a ton of money to spend.  If they find a quarterback they could be this season’s version of Kansas City.

– The Dolphins and Colts have young quarterbacks in place.  That’s the hardest part.  They’ve stumbled with some of their decisions lately, but can really make more positive strides this offseason to challenge in the AFC.

– Everyone in the AFC East has a chance to get better to take on the Patriots. Not saying any of them will pass them, but they have the opportunity to step forward.

– The NFC West might have some trouble keeping together their stacked rosters.  Tough decisions ahead as the rest of the league looks to poach them.

– The Saints not only have Jimmy Graham free agency to deal with, but a lot of juggling to maintain their success.  Especially as it compares to the Panthers, Bucs, and Falcons money situations.

– The Steelers might have to hit the reset button.  They are old, and overpaid.

– The Cowboys have a LOT of work to do between now and March 11.

Numbers courtesy of Spotrac.com. [1]

TEAM EST. 2013 CAP SPACE 2014 FREE AGENTS PROJ. 2014 CAP SPACE
1 Oakland Raiders [2] $4,509,671 25 (18 UFA) [3] $63,633,401
2 Jacksonville Jaguars [4] $19,044,460 16 (8 UFA) [5] $50,399,782
3 Cleveland Browns [6] $25,206,298 8 (7 UFA) [7] $46,220,904
4 Indianapolis Colts [8] $219,839 24 (17 UFA) [9] $33,552,464
5 Miami Dolphins [10] $17,134,659 21 (15 UFA) [11] $32,013,542
6 Green Bay Packers [12] $9,429,535 19 (16 UFA) [13] $27,264,983
7 Minnesota Vikings [14] $1,041,416 19 (16 UFA) [15] $23,943,670
8 Cincinnati Bengals [16] $7,761,856 15 (12 UFA) [17] $23,345,599
9 Washington Redskins [18] $967,336 22 (18 UFA) [19] $23,085,624
10 New York Jets [20] $3,601,329 24 (18 UFA) [21] $22,297,475
11 Carolina Panthers [22] $13,069,736 26 (19 UFA) [23] $20,998,273
12 Philadelphia Eagles [24] $17,897,254 14 (9 UFA) [25] $20,957,239
13 Buffalo Bills [26] $17,523,224 11 (7 UFA) [27] $19,283,662
14 Atlanta Falcons [28] $3,407,314 14 (10 UFA) [29] $13,661,973
15 Denver Broncos [30] $6,573,476 21 (16 UFA) [31] $12,414,394
16 Baltimore Ravens [32] $1,138,094 20 (13 UFA) [33] $11,497,810
17 Tampa Bay Buccaneers [34] $7,472,287 24 (18 UFA) [35] $11,192,698
18 New York Giants [36] $85,535 27 (23 UFA) [37] $9,277,474
19 Chicago Bears [38] $2,475,689 26 (22 UFA) [39] $7,304,912
20 Tennessee Titans [40] $7,167,783 16 (15 UFA) [41] $6,521,842
21 New England Patriots [42] $5,924,757 14 (12 UFA) [43] $5,619,465
22 San Francisco 49ers [44] $2,625,734 13 (11 UFA) [45] $5,166,959
23 Houston Texans [46] $1,880,243 18 (12 UFA) [47] $3,319,618
24 Seattle Seahawks [48] $3,182,731 21 (17 UFA) [49] $2,551,491
25 Arizona Cardinals [50] $5,596,968 23 (15 UFA) [51] $2,302,549
26 St. Louis Rams [52] $270,527 16 (8 UFA) [53] $888,840
27 Kansas City Chiefs [54] $1,488,345 16 (13 UFA) [55] $333,457
28 San Diego Chargers [56] $1,425,497 15 (13 UFA) [57] -$2,754,251
29 Detroit Lions [58] $1,493,425 24 (18 UFA) [59] -$5,313,331
30 Pittsburgh Steelers [60] $3,321,574 25 (21 UFA) [61] -$10,502,280
31 New Orleans Saints [62] $1,508,272 25 (17 UFA) [63] -$13,741,318
32 Dallas Cowboys [64] $1,805,027 13 (11 UFA) [65] -$24,117,913

 

 


Article printed from : http://www.sportstalkflorida.com

URL to article: http://www.sportstalkflorida.com/tuck-2014-nfl-salary-cap-space/

URLs in this post:

[1] Spotrac.com.: http://www.spotrac.com/premium/research/nfl/projected-2014-nfl-team-cap-space-420/

[2] Oakland Raiders: http://www.spotrac.com/nfl/oakland-raiders/cap-hit/

[3] 25 (18 UFA): http://www.spotrac.com/premium/research/nfl/projected-2014-nfl-team-cap-space-420/www.spotrac.com/free-agents/nfl/oakland-raiders/

[4] Jacksonville Jaguars: http://www.spotrac.com/nfl/jacksonville-jaguars/cap-hit/

[5] 16 (8 UFA): http://www.spotrac.com/free-agents/nfl/jacksonville-jaguars/

[6] Cleveland Browns: http://www.spotrac.com/nfl/cleveland-browns/cap-hit/

[7] 8 (7 UFA): http://www.spotrac.com/free-agents/nfl/cleveland-browns/

[8] Indianapolis Colts: http://www.spotrac.com/nfl/indianapolis-colts/cap-hit/

[9] 24 (17 UFA): http://www.spotrac.com/free-agents/nfl/indianapolis-colts/

[10] Miami Dolphins: http://www.spotrac.com/nfl/miami-dolphins/cap-hit/

[11] 21 (15 UFA): http://www.spotrac.com/free-agents/nfl/miami-dolphins/

[12] Green Bay Packers: http://www.spotrac.com/nfl/green-bay-packers/cap-hit/

[13] 19 (16 UFA): http://www.spotrac.com/free-agents/nfl/green-bay-packers/

[14] Minnesota Vikings: http://www.spotrac.com/nfl/minnesota-vikings/cap-hit/

[15] 19 (16 UFA): http://www.spotrac.com/free-agents/nfl/minnesota-vikings/

[16] Cincinnati Bengals: http://www.spotrac.com/nfl/cincinnati-bengals/cap-hit/

[17] 15 (12 UFA): http://www.spotrac.com/free-agents/nfl/cincinnati-bengals/

[18] Washington Redskins: http://www.spotrac.com/nfl/washington-redskins/cap-hit/

[19] 22 (18 UFA): http://www.spotrac.com/free-agents/nfl/washington-redskins/

[20] New York Jets: http://www.spotrac.com/nfl/new-york-jets/cap-hit/

[21] 24 (18 UFA): http://www.spotrac.com/free-agents/nfl/new-york-jets/

[22] Carolina Panthers: http://www.spotrac.com/nfl/carolina-panthers/cap-hit/

[23] 26 (19 UFA): http://www.spotrac.com/free-agents/nfl/carolina-panthers/

[24] Philadelphia Eagles: http://www.spotrac.com/nfl/philadelphia-eagles/cap-hit/

[25] 14 (9 UFA): http://www.spotrac.com/free-agents/nfl/philadelphia-eagles/

[26] Buffalo Bills: http://www.spotrac.com/nfl/buffalo-bills/cap-hit/

[27] 11 (7 UFA): http://www.spotrac.com/free-agents/nfl/buffalo-bills/

[28] Atlanta Falcons: http://www.spotrac.com/nfl/atlanta-falcons/cap-hit/

[29] 14 (10 UFA): http://www.spotrac.com/free-agents/nfl/atlanta-falcons/

[30] Denver Broncos: http://www.spotrac.com/nfl/denver-broncos/cap-hit/

[31] 21 (16 UFA): http://www.spotrac.com/free-agents/nfl/denver-broncos/

[32] Baltimore Ravens: http://www.spotrac.com/nfl/baltimore-ravens/cap-hit/

[33] 20 (13 UFA): http://www.spotrac.com/free-agents/nfl/baltimore-ravens/

[34] Tampa Bay Buccaneers: http://www.spotrac.com/nfl/tampa-bay-buccaneers/cap-hit/

[35] 24 (18 UFA): http://www.spotrac.com/free-agents/nfl/tampa-bay-buccaneers/

[36] New York Giants: http://www.spotrac.com/nfl/new-york-giants/cap-hit/

[37] 27 (23 UFA): http://www.spotrac.com/free-agents/nfl/new-york-giants/

[38] Chicago Bears: http://www.spotrac.com/nfl/chicago-bears/cap-hit/

[39] 26 (22 UFA): http://www.spotrac.com/free-agents/nfl/chicago-bears/

[40] Tennessee Titans: http://www.spotrac.com/nfl/tennessee-titans/cap-hit/

[41] 16 (15 UFA): http://www.spotrac.com/free-agents/nfl/tennessee-titans/

[42] New England Patriots: http://www.spotrac.com/nfl/new-england-patriots/cap-hit/

[43] 14 (12 UFA): http://www.spotrac.com/free-agents/nfl/new-england-patriots/

[44] San Francisco 49ers: http://www.spotrac.com/nfl/san-francisco-49ers/cap-hit/

[45] 13 (11 UFA): http://www.spotrac.com/free-agents/nfl/san-francisco-49ers/

[46] Houston Texans: http://www.spotrac.com/nfl/houston-texans/cap-hit/

[47] 18 (12 UFA): http://www.spotrac.com/free-agents/nfl/houston-texans/

[48] Seattle Seahawks: http://www.spotrac.com/nfl/seattle-seahawks/cap-hit/

[49] 21 (17 UFA): http://www.spotrac.com/free-agents/nfl/seattle-seahawks/

[50] Arizona Cardinals: http://www.spotrac.com/nfl/arizona-cardinals/cap-hit/

[51] 23 (15 UFA): http://www.spotrac.com/free-agents/nfl/arizona-cardinals/

[52] St. Louis Rams: http://www.spotrac.com/nfl/st.-louis-rams/cap-hit/

[53] 16 (8 UFA): http://www.spotrac.com/free-agents/nfl/st.-louis-rams/

[54] Kansas City Chiefs: http://www.spotrac.com/nfl/kansas-city-chiefs/cap-hit/

[55] 16 (13 UFA): http://www.spotrac.com/free-agents/nfl/kansas-city-chiefs/

[56] San Diego Chargers: http://www.spotrac.com/nfl/san-diego-chargers/cap-hit/

[57] 15 (13 UFA): http://www.spotrac.com/free-agents/nfl/san-diego-chargers/

[58] Detroit Lions: http://www.spotrac.com/nfl/detroit-lions/cap-hit/

[59] 24 (18 UFA): http://www.spotrac.com/free-agents/nfl/detroit-lions/

[60] Pittsburgh Steelers: http://www.spotrac.com/nfl/pittsburgh-steelers/cap-hit/

[61] 25 (21 UFA): http://www.spotrac.com/free-agents/nfl/pittsburgh-steelers/

[62] New Orleans Saints: http://www.spotrac.com/nfl/new-orleans-saints/cap-hit/

[63] 25 (17 UFA): http://www.spotrac.com/free-agents/nfl/new-orleans-saints/

[64] Dallas Cowboys: http://www.spotrac.com/nfl/dallas-cowboys/cap-hit/

[65] 13 (11 UFA): http://www.spotrac.com/free-agents/nfl/dallas-cowboys/

Copyright © 2011 ESPN Florida. All rights reserved.