- - http://www.sportstalkflorida.com -

Toughest bet is who will tame the Monster Mile?

Posted By James Williams On May 30, 2013 @ 9:04 AM In Florida News,Insider Main,Legacy,NASCAR | No Comments

[1]NASCAR [2] heads east this week to Dover, Delaware which is about half way between Washington, D.C. and Philadelphia. All three series will be showcased with the Camping World Trucks [3] running on Friday night. The Nationwide [4] series goes off on Saturday afternoon. Then Sunday it will be the Fed Ex 400 [5] Sprint Cup race on the famed “Monster Mile,” [6] one of the last concrete tracks on the NASCAR schedule.

There are many things to like about racing at Dover but my personal favorite item is that the main grandstand is attached to the Dover Downs Hotel and Casino. [7] The high rollers have suites that overlook the entire front stretch including the start/finish line.

Yep, the 150,000 seat Monster Mile has its own full blown casino complete with all the big money table games and plenty of slots. So if you were a “gambling man or woman,”who would be your best bet to win at Dover?

Well the No. 48 Chevrolet of Jimmie Johnson [8] would a great bet. JJ has won the race at Dover more than any active NASCAR driver. He won there for the first time his rookie year back in 2002. He has had plenty of success there since winning four of the last eight races at Dover.

How about Kyle Busch [9]?

The pilot of the Joe Gibbs racing No. 18 Toyota is tough to beat on the short tracks and he has always been very competitive at Dover. Busch’s success at Bristol – where he has a dozen top-10 finishes, including five wins, since 2005 – has to put him in the conversation for a win at Dover.

How about a long shot?

Well I think a good bet would be the No. 99 Ford driven by “Concrete Carl Edwards.” [10] He won the race in 2007 and Edwards 8.3 average Cup finish at Dover, is the best among all active drivers and includes Johnson.

No matter who wins at the Monster Mile you can bet there will be plenty of gambling on and off the track this weekend.

James Williams is a seven-time Emmy Award-winning TV producer, director and writer.

 


Article printed from : http://www.sportstalkflorida.com

URL to article: http://www.sportstalkflorida.com/toughest-bet-is-who-will-tame-the-monster-mile/

URLs in this post:

[1] Image: http://www.sportstalkflorida.com/toughest-bet-is-who-will-tame-the-monster-mile/dover-international-speedway-2/

[2] NASCAR: http://www.nascar.com/en_us/sprint-cup-series.html?cid=sem_goo_nascardotcom_brand_1301&gclid=CJaW1vfnvbcCFYKd4AodYD8AYQ

[3] Camping World Trucks: http://www.nascar.com/en_us/camping-world-truck-series.html

[4]  Nationwide: http://www.nascar.com/en_us/nationwide-series.html

[5] Fed Ex 400: http://www.nascar.com/en_us/sprint-cup-series.html

[6] “Monster Mile,”: http://www.doverspeedway.com/monster-mile-infographic/

[7] Dover Downs Hotel and Casino.: http://www.doverdowns.com/Hotel/?gclid=CPyjsLnsvbcCFdKd4AodjBoAKA

[8] Jimmie Johnson: http://www.nascar.com/en_us/sprint-cup-series/drivers/jimmie-johnson.html

[9] Kyle Busch: http://www.nascar.com/en_us/sprint-cup-series/drivers/kyle-busch.html

[10] “Concrete Carl Edwards.”: http://www.nascar.com/en_us/sprint-cup-series/drivers/carl-edwards.html

Copyright © 2011 ESPN Florida. All rights reserved.