Smith’s Hit On Leveon Bell Wasn’t A Violation Of Rule

via Mike Florio, NBC Sports Pro Football Talk

Apart from the rule that prevented running back Le’Veon Bell from scoring a touchdown because his helmet flew off before the ball crossed the goal line, questions have emerged regarding whether a hit to Bell’s helmet from the top of the helmet of Ravens cornerback Jimmy Smith should have drawn a penalty.

Per a league source with knowledge of the manner in which rules are interpreted and applied, Smith’s hit did not violate the new “crown of the helmet” rule. While the hit occurred outside the tackle box and with the top of Smith’s helmet, he didn’t “line up” Bell.

In case you somehow missed it, here’s the hit in question:

Smith's Hit On Leveon Bell Wasn't A Violation Of Rule by

Tags: