sportstalkflorida.com News

More Seminoles Added to Preseason Award Watch List

Florida State senior tight end Nick OLeary and senior center Austin Barron became the latest Seminoles to be named to preseason award watch lists on Tuesday.

OLeary was selected to the 2014 John Mackey Award Preseason Watch List, while Barron garnered mention on the 2014 Rimington Trophy Fall Watch List.

OLeary was one of three finalists for the 2013 Mackey Award, which is given annually to the most outstanding collegiate tight end. The Palm Beach, Fla., native had 33 receptions for 557 yards and seven touchdowns during Florida States national championship season a year ago. He averaged 16.9 yards per catch a mark that led all tight ends in the nation. He will enter his fourth year as a starter for the Seminoles having already set the FSU career record for touchdown catches by a tight end (11).

The 2014 Mackey recipient will be announced on Dec. 10 and then presented live on Dec. 11 at the Home Depot College Football Awards Red Carpet Show on ESPNU. Other key dates include the announcement of the 2014 Mackey Midseason Watch List on Oct. 13, the Mackey Semifinalists on Nov. 17 and the 2013 Mackey Finalists on Nov. 24.

Barron is one of seven ACC centers on the Rimington Watch List. He is slated to follow in the footsteps of 2013 Rimington Trophy winner Bryan Stork as Florida States starting center. The Fort Lauderdale, Fla., native has played in 30 career games and made five starts for the Seminoles.

OLeary and Barron join six Seminoles who were named to preseason watch lists on Monday: Jameis Winston (Maxwell Award), Rashad Greene (Maxwell Award), Karlos Williams (Maxwell Award), Mario Edwards, Jr. (Bednarik Award), P.J. Williams (Bednarik Award) and Kermit Whitfield (Hornung Award).

SOURCE: Florida State Athletics


our editors