sportstalkflorida.com News

Rays shutout in Gold Glove Awards

Both the Rays and the Orioles boasted the best defensive teams in baseball in 2013 but only one too home the hardware last night. TheBaltimore Orioles committed a Major League record-low 54 errors, and they were rewarded by having three players named 2013 Rawlings Gold Glove Award winners.

Third basemanManny Machado, shortstopJ.J. Hardyand center fielderAdam Joneseach got a gold glove as Baltimorebecame the first club since the 2003-04 Cardinals with at least three Gold Glove Award winners in consecutive seasons.

In a bit of a surprise, the Tampa Bay Rays -- with their .990 fielding percentage and total of 59 errors, both the Majors' second best -- were shut out on Tuesday night. The entire Rays infield ofJames Loney,Ben Zobrist,Evan LongoriaandYunel Escobarwas among the finalists at each position announced last week.

2013 gave us eight first time winners withMachado and Atlanta shortstopAndrelton Simmons, leading the way. The Rockies third basemanNolan Arenadobecame just the 10th rookie in history to take home the award and the first sinceIchiro Suzukidid so in 2001.

As for the veterans, Cardinals catcherYadier Molinatook home his sixth Gold Glove, moving into a tie for fourth place in history among catchers. Reds second basemanBrandon Phillipsand Red Sox right fielderShane Victorinoboth notched their fourth.

The Kansas City Royals were the only other club with three winners on Tuesday night, as catcherSalvador Perez, first basemanEric Hosmerand left fielderAlex Gordoneach won an award. Hosmer and Perez were first-time winners, while Gordon notched his third straight.

Both World Series clubs boast a pair of Gold Glove Award winners this year. Along with Victorino, Red Sox second basemanDustin Pedroiaearned his third overall.

Meanwhile, Molina's total of six is the most for any of this year's winners. Despite his incredible six-year run, Molina would still need seven more to equalIvan Rodriguezfor the most in history by a catcher.

Molina equaled Rodriguez in at least one other category. When Cardinals aceAdam Wainwrigh took home his second Gold Glove, Molina and Wainwright became just the second battery in history to win the award twice, and the first to do so with the same team. (Rodriguez and left-hander Kenny Rogers won Gold Glove Awards with the Rangers in 2000 and the Tigers in '06.)

Arizona and Colorado round out the clubs with multiple winners. For the D-backs, right fielderGerardo Parrawon his second Gold Glove Award, and National League Most Valuable Player Award candidatePaul Goldschmidtnotched his first. For the Rockies, Arenado became the first rookie third baseman to win the honor since Boston's Frank Malzone won in 1957 -- the first year of voting. Left fielderCarlos Gonzalezearned his third.

Finally, in a bit of irony, Toronto'sstarting pitcherMark Buehrlewas denied a fifth straight award losing to his own teammate asR.A. Dickey,picked up his first Gold Glove.



our editors