sportstalkflorida.com News

Pro Bowl Voting: No Bucs, Dolphins or Jaguars

NFL fans cast 80,272,816 votes to help determine the 2014 Pro Bowl players, a 16.4 percent increase from last season, NFL.com announced today.

Denver Broncos quarterback PEYTON MANNING received 1,432,257 fan votes to lead all NFL players in balloting for the 2014 Pro Bowl. Fan voting ended on Thursday, December 26.

The NFL All-Stars are determined by the consensus votes of fans, players and coaches. Each groups vote counts one-third toward determining the 86 Pro Bowl players who will be eligible for the first-ever Pro Bowl Draft.

The 2014 Pro Bowl players will be revealed exclusively on NFL Network tonight at 9:00 PM ET on the NFL Total Access Pro Bowl Players Revealed show. The full list of 2014 Pro Bowl players will be also published on NFL.com at 9:00 PM ET.

Players will later be assigned to teams through the Pro Bowl Draft, which will also air on NFL Network on Wednesday, January 22 at 8:00 PM ET.

New Orleans Saints quarterback DREW BREES (1,206,000 votes) ranks second overall, while Kansas City Chiefs running back JAMAAL CHARLES (959,707 votes), Seattle Seahawks running back MARSHAWN LYNCH (931,563 votes), and Detroit Lions wide receiver CALVIN JOHNSON (928,790 votes) round out the top five on NFL.com.

The 2014 Pro Bowl will be played on Sunday, January 26, 2014 and televised live on NBC at 7:00 PM ET from Aloha Stadium in Honolulu, Hawaii.

For the first time ever, the Pro Bowl will be unconferenced.

Gone is the familiar AFC vs. NFC match-up that has existed since 1971. Instead, players will be selected without regard to conference in voting by fans, coaches and players. For example, the top six quarterbacks following voting will earn distinction as All-Stars, regardless of how many are from AFC or NFC teams.

NFL players and coaches cast their votes on December 23-26. Two need players will be also chosen by each head coach and must be long snappers.

The NFL is the only sports league that combines voting by fans, coaches and players to determine its all-star teams. It was the first professional sports league to offer online all-star voting in 1995.

Tickets for the 2014 Pro Bowl are now on sale through www.ticketmaster.com. Fans may also call 1-800-745-3000 or visit the Aloha Stadium box office.


[table id=170 /]


[table id=171 /]

Source: NFL Media


our editors