sportstalkflorida.com News

NHL Diary: Bruins, Avalanche Big Winners At Awards


Welcome to the NHL Morning Skate, a daily collection of the latest news and notes from around the League.

Penguins captainSidney Crosby, who led the NHL with 68 assists and 104 points during the regular season, won his second Hart Memorial Trophy as the Leagues most valuable player at the 2014 NHL Awards, held Tuesday in the Encore Theater at the Wynn Las Vegas.

Crosby, who also accepted the Art Ross Trophy as the Leagues scoring leader, was a near-unanimous choice in Hart Trophy voting by members of the Professional Hockey Writers Association, receiving 128 first-place votes and appearing on all 137 ballots cast. He collected 1,341 points to finish ahead of Ducks captainRyan Getzlaf(877) and Flyers captainClaude Giroux(435).

Crosby, who previously won the Hart Trophy in 2006-07, also won the Ted Lindsay Award as the most outstanding player as voted by fellow members of the NHLPA. It marked Crosbys third overall and second consecutive win of the award (also 2006-07 and 2012-13).


Patrice BergeronandTuukka Raskcombined to take home four honors for the Bruins.

Bergeron captured the Frank J. Selke Trophy as the Leagues top defensive forward for the second time in three years after leading the NHL in face-off wins (1,015) and ranking second in plus/minus with a career-best +38 rating. He also was honored for his work off the ice, receiving the NHL Foundation Player Award for community service, and was announced as thefan-selected cover athlete for EA SPORTSNHL 15.

Rask won the Vezina Trophy as the Leagues top goaltender in his first year as a finalist. He posted a 36-15-6 record, setting single-season highs in wins and appearances (58). Rask also was the only goaltender to rank among the NHLs top five in each of the major statistical categories: first in shutouts (7), second in save percentage (.930), fourth in goals-against average (2.04) and fifth in wins.

Tuuka Rask

The Avalanche combined for three NHL Awards, headlined byPatrick Roycapturing the Jack Adams Award as the Leagues most outstanding head coach. Roy lifted the Avalanche (52-22-8, 112 points) to a historic turnaround in his rookie season behind an NHL bench, helping the team finish third in the overall standings after placing 29th in 2012-13. Colorado became the first club since the NHL expanded to 21 teams in 1979 to go from the bottom three to the top three in a single season.

Nathan MacKinnon(9/1/95) became the youngest winner of the Calder Memorial Trophy as the Leagues top rookie, surpassing Hurricanes forwardJeff Skinner(5/16/92), who was three-and-a-half months older at the time of his win in 2010-11. MacKinnon, the first overall pick in the 2013 NHL Draft, led all rookies in points (63), goals (24-tied), assists (39), power-play goals (8), game-winning goals (5-tied) and shots on goal (241).

Ryan OReillycompleted the Avalanche hat trick by collecting the Lady Byng Memorial Trophy for sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct combined with a high standard of playing ability. He registered a career-high 64 points; led the team in goals (28), power-play goals (9) and game-winning goals (6-tied); and paced the NHL in takeaways (83) for the second time in the past three seasons. OReilly also was flagged for just one minor penalty all season, joiningButch Goringas the only players ever to receive two or fewer PIM over 80 or more games.

Pat O'Riley

mplete List of 2014 NHL Award Winners:

Art Ross Trophy:Sidney Crosby(PIT)

Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy:Dominic Moore(NYR)

Calder Memorial Trophy:Nathan MacKinnon(COL)

Clarence S. Campbell Bowl: Los Angeles Kings

Conn Smythe Trophy:Justin Williams(LA)

Frank J. Selke Trophy:Patrice Bergeron(BOS)

Hart Memorial Trophy:Sidney Crosby(PIT)

Jack Adams Award:Patrick Roy(COL)

James Norris Memorial Trophy:Duncan Keith(CHI)

King Clancy Memorial Trophy:Andrew Ference(EDM)

Lady Byng Memorial Trophy:Ryan OReilly(COL)

Mark Messier NHL Leadership Award presented by Bridgestone:Dustin Brown(LA)

Maurice Rocket Richard Trophy:Alex Ovechkin(WSH)

NHL Foundation Player Award:Patrice Bergeron(BOS)

NHL General Manager of the Year Award:Bob Murray(ANA)

Presidents Trophy: Boston Bruins

Prince of Wales Trophy: New York Rangers

Stanley Cup: Los Angeles Kings

Ted Lindsay Award:Sidney Crosby(PIT)

Vezina Trophy:Tuukka Rask(BOS)

William M. Jennings Trophy:Jonathan Quick(LA)

The NHL also announced itsAll-StarandAll-RookieTeams for the 2013-14 season:

Comprising the First All-Star Team are goaltenderTuukka Rask(BOS); defensemenZdeno Chara(BOS) andDuncan Keith(CHI); centerSidney Crosby(PIT); right wingCorey Perry(ANA); and left wingJamie Benn(DAL).

The Second All-Star Team consists of goaltenderSemyon Varlamov(COL); defensemenAlex Pietrangelo(STL) andShea Weber(NSH); centerRyan Getzlaf(ANA); right wingAlex Ovechkin(WSH); and left wingJoe Pavelski(SJ).

The All-Rookie Team includes goaltenderFrederik Andersen(ANA); defensemenTorey Krug(BOS) andHampus Lindholm(ANA); and forwardsTyler Johnson(TB),Nathan MacKinnon(COL) andOndrej Palat(TB).

Nine-year-old Bruins fanWill Lacey, who was diagnosed with neuroblastoma when he was six months old, enjoyed an unforgettable night at the 2014 NHL Awards, walking the red carpet withTuukka Raskand presentingPatrice Bergeronwith the NHL Foundation Player Award.

Click hereto learn more about his experience.

Tuuka Rask

The Lightning signed forwardRyan Callahanto a six-year contract extension . . . The Kings signed defensemanMatt Greeneto a four-year contract extension . . . The Hurricanes re-signed forwardNathan Gerbe, defensemanRon Hainseyand forwardChris Terry. . . The Oilers acquired defensemanNikita Nikitinfrom the Blue Jackets in exchange for a fifth-round pick in the 2014 NHL Draft . . . The Capitals hiredMitch Kornas their goaltending coachcoach . . . ICYMI: Various players and celebrities, including King Clancy winnerAndrew Ference, took selfies for theNHLs Twitter account.

Andrew Ference

Source: NHL Media



our editors