sportstalkflorida.com News

NHL Diary: NHL Releases 2014-15 Schedule


Welcome to the NHL Morning Skate, a daily collection of the latest news and notes from around the League.

The NHL released its complete schedule for the 2014-15 season. The 1,230-game slate begins on Wednesday, Oct. 8, with four contests, highlighted by the Los Angeles Kings raising their second championship banner in the past three seasons. The regular season concludes on Saturday, April 11, with all 30 clubs in action.


* The Washington Capitals will play host to the Chicago Blackhawks in the 2015 Bridgestone NHL Winter Classic on Thursday, Jan. 1, at 1:00 p.m. ET. The game, one of only two contests on New Years Day, marks the second Winter Classic for both clubs (WSH in 2011, CHI in 2009), while the Blackhawks will be making their third appearance in a regular-season outdoor game (also 2014 Coors Light NHL Stadium Series). More details on the 2015 Bridgestone NHL Winter Classic will be released in the coming weeks.

* The Leagues regular-season schedule will pause from Jan. 22-26, so the worlds top players can gather in Columbus for the 2015 NHL All-Star Weekend a first for Nationwide Arena and the city.

*Click herefor the complete 2014-15 schedule.

*Click herefor a team-by-team look at the 2014-15 schedule.

*Click herefor a full list of home openers.

A look at the week ahead:

Monday, June 23:
* 2014 NHL Awards Media Availability (11:30 a.m. PT / 2:30 p.m. ET; The Country Club, Wynn Las Vegas)

* Hockey Hall of Fame 2014 Inductee Announcement (3:00 p.m. ET; TSN2)

Tuesday, June 24:
* 2014 NHL Awards Red Carpet Availability RSVP Required (2:00 p.m. PT / 5:00 p.m. ET; Encore Esplanade)

* 2014 NHL Awards Show (4:00 p.m. PT / 7:00 p.m. ET; Encore Theater; NBCSN, CBC)

Wednesday, June 25:
* Free Agent Interview Period Opens (12:01 a.m. ET)

* 2014 NHL Draft Top Prospects Trolley Media Tour (begins at 11:15 a.m. ET at Philadelphia Museum of Art and Rocky Statue)

Thursday, June 26:
* Top Prospects Clinic (10:00 a.m. ET; Ed Snider Youth Hockey Foundation Scanlon Ice Rink)

* Top Prospects Media Availability (2:30 p.m. ET; The National Constitution Center)

* Media Welcome Reception (5:00 p.m. ET; Continental Mid-Town)

Friday, June 27:
* NHL Green Legacy Tree Planting (1:00 p.m. ET; XFINITY Live! at the Sports Complex)

* 2014 NHL Draft: Round 1 (7:00 p.m. ET; Wells Fargo Center)

Saturday, June 28:
* 2014 NHL Draft: Rounds 2-7 (10:00 a.m. ET; Wells Fargo Center)

A full list of finalists for the 2014 NHL Awards:

Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy
Jaromir Jagr, New Jersey Devils
Manny Malhotra, Carolina Hurricanes
Dominic Moore, New York Rangers

Calder Memorial Trophy
Tyler Johnson, Tampa Bay Lightning
Nathan MacKinnon, Colorado Avalanche
Ondrej Palat, Tampa Bay Lightning

Frank J. Selke Trophy
Patrice Bergeron, Boston Bruins
Anze Kopitar, Los Angeles Kings
Jonathan Toews, Chicago Blackhawks

Hart Memorial Trophy
Sidney Crosby, Pittsburgh Penguins
Ryan Getzlaf, Anaheim Ducks
Claude Giroux, Philadelphia Flyers

Jack Adams Award
Mike Babcock, Detroit Red Wings
Jon Cooper, Tampa Bay Lightning
Patrick Roy, Colorado Avalanche

James Norris Memorial Trophy
Zdeno Chara, Boston Bruins
Duncan Keith, Chicago Blackhawks
Shea Weber, Nashville Predators

Lady Byng Memorial Trophy
Patrick Marleau, San Jose Sharks
Ryan OReilly, Colorado Avalanche
Martin St. Louis, New York Rangers

Ted Lindsay Award
Sidney Crosby, Pittsburgh Penguins
Ryan Getzlaf, Anaheim Ducks
Claude Giroux, Philadelphia Flyers

Vezina Trophy
Ben Bishop, Tampa Bay Lightning
Tuukka Rask, Boston Bruins
Semyon Varlamov, Colorado Avalanche

NHL General Manager of the Year Award
Marc Bergevin, Montreal Canadiens
Dean Lombardi, Los Angeles Kings
Bob Murray, Anaheim Ducks

Mark Messier NHL Leadership Award presented by Bridgestone
Dustin Brown, Los Angeles Kings
Ryan Getzlaf, Anaheim Ducks
Jonathan Toews, Chicago Blackhawks

NHL Foundation Player Award
Patrice Bergeron, Boston Bruins
Brent Burns, San Jose Sharks
Duncan Keith, Chicago Blackhawks

Already announced winners of 2014 NHL Awards:

Art Ross Trophy:Sidney Crosby, Pittsburgh Penguins

King Clancy Memorial Trophy:Andrew Ference, Edmonton Oilers

Maurice Rocket Richard Trophy:Alex Ovechkin, Washington Capitals

William M. Jennings Trophy:Jonathan Quick, Los Angeles Kings

Conn Smythe Trophy:Justin Williams, Los Angeles Kings

Presidents Trophy: Boston Bruins

Prince of Wales Trophy: New York Rangers

Clarence S. Campbell Bowl: Los Angeles Kings

Stanley Cup: Los Angeles Kings

Source: NHL Media


our editors