NFL Roster of Officials Finalized

The NFL roster of game officials for the 2014 season will include 13 first-year NFL officials – and three new referees – among the group of 119, the league announced today.

First-year official BRAD ALLEN will join the NFL as a referee from the Atlantic Coast Conference, where he has been a referee for the past nine seasons and was regarded as one of the best in college football. Allen has refereed several major bowl games, including the 2012 Rose Bowl and 2014 Sugar Bowl. Allen replaces veteran referee MIKE CAREY, who will join CBS Sports as a rules analyst.

Veteran NFL officials RONALD TORBERT and CRAIG WROLSTAD are also new referees in 2014, replacing retired referees SCOTT GREEN and RON WINTER. Wrolstad has spent the past 11 seasons as a field judge while Torbert has worked the past four as a side judge.

The 13 first-year NFL officials are all graduates of the NFL Officiating Development program, which is designed to train top college football officials in all aspects of NFL officiating.

“Our first-year officials were all among the best in college football, including Brad Allen, one of our new referees,” said NFL Vice President of Officiating DEAN BLANDINO. “Brad was an outstanding referee for many years in the ACC and we are excited about having him on the field. Ron and Craig have proven to be outstanding NFL officials and they also are ready to assume the referee position.”

The 13 first-year NFL officials:

Uniform No. Name Position College 2013 College Conference
122 Brad Allen R Pembroke State ACC
88 Brad Freeman FJ Mississippi State SEC
103 Eugene Hall FJ North Texas BIG 12
83 Shawn Hochuli SJ Claremont PAC-12
117 John Jenkins FJ St. Mary’s PAC-12
55 Alex Kemp SJ Central Michigan B1G
39 Rich Martinez BJ Canisius SEC
92 Bryan Neale U Indiana B1G
1 Scott Novak SJ Phoenix BIG 12
17 Steve Patrick BJ Jacksonville State SEC
131 Mark Pellis U Allegheny AAC
13 Patrick Turner HL Cal State-Long Beach PAC-12
123 Ed Walker LJ San Jose State PAC-12