Insider: Meaningless 2012 NFL Predictions

Now that the 2012 NFL regular season is upon us it’s time for meaningless predictions. Taking note that there hasn’t been a repeat Super Bowl champion in almost eight years and there are an average of five different playoff teams each year here is how we see things playing out.

Division Champs

AFC East- New England Patriots

AFC North- Baltimore Ravens

AFC South- Houston Texans

AFC West- San Diego Chargers

AFC Wildcards- Pittsburgh Steelers, Denver Broncos

NFC East- New York Giants

NFC North- Green Bay Packers

NFC South- Atlanta Falcons

NFC West- San Francisco 49ers

NFC Wildcards- Dallas Cowboys, Chicago Bears


AFC Championship- Pittsburgh over Houston

NFC Championship- Green Bay over Chicago

Super Bowl- Green Bay over Pittsburgh



MVP- Matt Ryan, Atlanta Falcons

Defensive Player of the Year- DeMarcus Ware, Dallas Cowboys

Offensive Rookie of the Year- Andrew Luck, Indianapolis Colts

Defensive Rookie of the Year- Luke Kuechly, Carolina Panthers

Most Improved- Blaine Gabbert, Jacksonville Jaguars

Comeback Player of the Year- Peyton Manning, Denver Broncos

Charlie Bernstein is the NFL Insider for and ESPN 1080 and 1040 in Orlando/Tampa and Editor-in-Chief of Sports Media Interactive, covering the National Football League, NCAA, and National Basketball Association. Charlie covers the Jacksonville Jaguars for FoxSports and has been featured on the NFL Network and Sirius NFL Radio. Charlie is also a member of the Pro Football Writers of America. You can follow Charlie on Twitter @nflcharlie