Broncos’ Welker Not Fined For Hit On Patriots Talib

When Patriots coach Bill Belichick blasted Broncos receiver Wes Welker for his hit on Aqib Talib in the AFC Championship Game, Belichick said, “I’ll let the league handle the discipline on that play. It’s not for me to decide.”

The NFL confirmed that on Friday afternoon, and it’s no surprise, as NFL head of officiating Dean Blandino already said that Welker’s hit on Talib was legal. Belichick may have considered it one of the worst plays he’s ever seen, but the reality is that under NFL rules, receivers are allowed to hit defensive backs the way Welker hit Talib.

For more on this story visit: Michael David Smith, NBC Sports