Gregg Popovich Named NBA Coach of the Year


San Antonio Spurs coach Gregg Popovich was named NBA coach of the year on Tuesday, making him just the third coach in league history to win the Red Auerbach trophy three times in his career.

Popovich has received the league’s top coaching honor in two of the last three seasons, joining Don Nelson and Pat Riley as the only coaches to win the award three times.

“This award with Coach Auerbach here belongs to a lot of people,” Popovich said. “I’m honored and very thankful.

For more on this story visit: ESPN