NASCAR: Kyle Busch win’s in a rare OT finish

Kyle Busch became the fifth different driver to win a NASCAR Sprint Cup race this year. He won yesterday at Fontana.

Kyle Busch became the fifth different driver to win a NASCAR Sprint Cup race this year. He won yesterday at Fontana.

This from today’s LA Times: Kyle Busch won the NASCAR Sprint Cup race in Fontana for the second consecutive year in a two-lap overtime finish Sunday at Auto Club Speedway.

Kyle Larson, the 21-year-old who won NASCAR’s second-level Nationwide Series race on Saturday in Fontana, finished second.

“What an awesome race this race track produced for two days in a row,” Busch said of the two-mile Fontana oval.

Busch drives the No. 18 Toyota and it was Toyota’s first Sprint Cup Series victory of the season. Busch also became the fifth different winner in five races this year.

Busch’s older brother Kurt finished third, Matt Kenseth was fourth and Tony Stewart was fifth.

The race was marked by tire problems for several drivers, most notably reigning Cup champion Jimmie Johnson.

Johnson, who has won a record five times at Auto Club Speedway, was leading again with only seven laps left in the 200-lap race when one of the left-side tires blew out on his No. 48 Chevrolet. MORE..

Auto Club 400 finishing order

Finish Driver Car Laps
1  Kyle Busch Toyota 206
2  Kyle Larson Chevrolet 206
3  Kurt Busch Chevrolet 206
4  Matt Kenseth Toyota 206
5  Tony Stewart Chevrolet 206
6  Jamie McMurray Chevrolet 206
7  Brian Vickers Toyota 206
8  A.J. Allmendinger Chevrolet 206
9  Paul Menard Chevrolet 206
10  Carl Edwards Ford 206
11  Austin Dillon Chevrolet 206
12  Dale Earnhardt, Jr. Chevrolet 206
13  Jeff Gordon Chevrolet 206
14  Danica Patrick Chevrolet 206
15  Casey Mears Chevrolet 206
16  Clint Bowyer Toyota 206
17  Sam Hornish, Jr. Toyota 206
18  Cole Whitt Toyota 206
19  Michael Annett Chevrolet 206
20  Ryan Newman Chevrolet 206
21  Reed Sorenson Chevrolet 206
22  Alex Bowman Toyota 206
23  Martin Truex, Jr. Chevrolet 206
24  Jimmie Johnson Chevrolet 206
25  Landon Cassill Chevrolet 205
26  Brad Keselowski Ford 205
27  David Ragan Ford 205
28  Justin Allgaier Chevrolet 205
29  David Reutimann Ford 205
30  Marcos Ambrose Ford 205
31  Ryan Truex Toyota 205
32 Joe Nemechek Toyota 205
33  Travis Kvapil Ford 205
34  Ricky Stenhouse, Jr. Ford 204
35  Brian Scott Chevrolet 204
36  Kevin Harvick Chevrolet 204
37  Josh Wise Chevrolet 204
38  David Gilliland Ford 202
39  Joey Logano Ford 195
40  Greg Biffle Ford 193
41  Kasey Kahne Chevrolet 180
42  Parker Kligerman Toyota 85
43  Aric Almirola Ford 68

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.