Winston And Manziel Up For Awards

Jameis Winston head shotJohnny Manziel might soon have company in what until now has been a party of one.

Last season, the Texas A&M quarterback became the first freshman to win the Heisman Trophy and the Davey O’Brien Award, which goes to the nation’s best quarterback, after helping the Aggies’ explosive offense run roughshod over most of the SEC. Now Florida State’s Jameis Winston could join him after what has been a similarly productive redshirt freshman season.

Winston, Manziel and Alabama quarterback AJ McCarron — all among the nation’s top Heisman contenders — were named Monday as the finalists for both the O’Brien and Maxwell (college player of the year) awards. The quarterback trio highlights the list of finalists for The Home Depot College Football Awards, which will air on Dec. 12 at 7 p.m. ET on ESPN.