Tigers Scherzer and Dodgers Kershaw Win Cy Young Award

Tigers Scherzer and Dodgers Kershaw Win Cy Young Award

Tigers_Max_Scherzer_2013The Baseball Writers Association of America (BBWAA) handed down their third award of the offseason naming the Detroit Tigers Max Scherzer as the American League Cy Young Award Winner and the Los Angeles Dodgers Clayton Kershaw the National Leagues Cy Young Winner.

Scherzer led the Detroit Tigers to the AL Central Title by posting a 21-3 record with a 2.90 ERA/2.74FIP striking out 240 hitters in 214.2 innings of work. In winning his first Cy Young Award he received 2o3 points including 28 of the 30 first place votes.

He finished ahead of Texas Ranger right hander Yu Darvish who garnered 93 points including without registering a first place vote and the Seattle Mariners Hisashi Iwakuma who tallied 73 points without a first place vote. The other two first place votes were cast for Scherzer’s teammate Anibal Sanchez who finished fourth with 46 points the Chicago White Sox Chris Sale who finished fifth with 44 points.  Full Ballot Available Here.

Dodgers_KershawClayton Kershaw led the Los Angeles Dodgers to an NL West Title by posting a record of 16-9 with a 1.83 ERA/2.39 FIP. He led the National League striking out 232 batters in 236 innings. In winning his second Cy Young award (2011) he received 207 points and 29 of 30 first place votes.

He finished ahead of Adam Wainwright of the St.Louis Cardinals who totaled 86 points and received the other first place vote. NL Rookie of the Year Winner Jose Fernandez finished third with 62 points. Full Ballot Available Here.


I am a fan of all sports but am most passionate about baseball. From the fanatical to analytical, nothing about the game escapes me. Being born and raised in Northeast Ohio I'm very familiar with the heartache and pain that sports can bring and hope that I bring some understanding of the other side to my coverage. I will focus mostly on baseball but also cover the Tampa Bay Lightning, one of the most electric franchises in all of sports. Always willing to converse about any sport and have only one rule and that is be respectful at all times.