Thursday Night Sweet 16 TV Schedule

Sweet 16

The Sweet 16 part of the 2014 NCAA men’s basketball tournament begins Thursday night. Here’s what to watch for:

7:15 p.m. ET, CBS: The first game Thursday night is the South region semifinal in Memphis. It will be a battle between Dayton and Stanford, following two huge upsets. Tonight, the 11th-seeded Flyers (25-10) are practically living in a fairy tale and the Cardinal (23-12) is a 10 seed team that played effectively as a team when they knocked out No. 2 Kansas last week.

7:47 p.m. ET,  TBS: The West region first semifinal game is in Anaheim, California with No. 2 Wisconsin taking on No. 6 Baylor. The Badgers (28-7) were able to slow down the explosive Oregon offense and came out on top against the Ducks. The Bears (26-11) have reached the ‘Sweet 16’ for the third time in the past four seasons.

9:45 p.m. ET, CBS: South region play continues with top seed Florida and No. 4 UCLA. These two schools have met three times in the past eight NCAA tournaments and Florida has won all three times. The Gators (34-2) beat Pittsburgh to get to  the Sweet 16 for the fourth straight season and the Bruins (28-8) succeeded in overcoming the upset-minded Stephen F. Austin crew last week to advance.

10:17 p.m. ET, TBS: The West region competition between top seed Arizona and fourth seed San Diego State features two teams that originally met back in November. The Wildcats pulled out a close victory over the Aztecs in that meeting. 

For more on this story visit: Pat Murphy, The Christian Science Monitor