Rays’ Wil Myers Voted Top AL Rookie

Source: Ryan Fagan, Sporting News

AP Photo
AP Photo
Sporting News has selected a Rookie of the Year since 1946, a year before MLB began its official award. This year’s winners, as voted on by fellow players in their leagues, are Wil Myers of the Tampa Bay Rays (American League) and Jose Fernandez of the Miami Marlins (National League).

As April rolled into May and May rolled into June, Wil Myers was still considered one of the favorites in the AL rookie of the year race.

On the surface, that’s not too surprising, considering the recently acquired gem of the Tampa Bay farm system was ranked No. 4 in Baseball America’s February release of 2013’s Top 100 Prospects. On the other hand, though, he had yet to play a single game in the majors leagues. No player was running away with the award, which meant Myers had a shot.