Franklin, Lochte Qualify For Two More Finals

INDIANAPOLIS (AP) — Ryan Lochte and Missy Franklin reached the finals in two events Tuesday at the U.S. national championships in Indianapolis.

Lochte will compete Tuesday night in the men’s 200-meter freestyle and 200 backstroke. He did not compete in the 50 butterfly prelims despite having the No. 2 seed time. Other Olympians reaching the finals included Connor Jaeger in the 200 free, Tyler Clary in the 200 back and Matt Grevers in the 50 fly.

Franklin, Shannon Vreeland and Katie Ledecky — all Olympic gold medalists in 2012 — posted the top three times in the women’s 200 free prelims. Franklin had the fastest times in the 200 free at 1:57.60 and the 200 back at 2:06.33 in prelims.

Each event winner earns a spot on the American world championship team.

Source: Associated Press