Firestone 600: A wild night in Texas is expected

Texas Motor Speedway will play host to the Indycar series tonight
Texas Motor Speedway will play host to the Indycar series tonight

Tonight under the lights at the very fast Texas Motor Speedway at 8 pm on NBC Sports Network it will be the Firestone 600. Will Power, who leads the points in the IndyCar series would love to add this oval title to his list of road and street course wins.

He has two victories, tying him with Ryan Hunter-Reay for the series lead in wins, and has finished in the top eight in every race this season. Power is coming off one of the best performances in his career last weekend: a first and a second on a street course in Detroit. He routed the field in qualifying on Friday.

“The three of us have the goal of giving the championship to Roger,” said Helio Castroneves, referring to Penske teammates Power and Juan Pablo Montoya. “That desire is driving all of us.”

With the aggressiveness, Power is living on the edge. He is becoming the series bad boy.

Fellow Australian Ryan Briscoe ripped Power for “absolutely stupid driving” that resulted in damaging contact during the Indianapolis 500. Power received two cautions and a drive-through penalty for causing “avoidable contact” in the first lap of Sunday’s race at Detroit. His move collected three other cars.

To get the elusive first championship, Power needs to be better on ovals. He has only two wins in 33 career IndyCar starts on ovals. His chance at a title in 2012 ended with a crash in the season-ending race on the oval of Auto Club Speedway in Fontana, Calif.

He is improving at this part of his game. Power returned to Fontana to win last season’s finale. He has finished among the top eight in his last four starts at TMS, his best oval. Power got his first win on an oval at TMS in 2011.

Can he win tonight? We will have to wait and see but one thing is for sure and that is starting on the poll, he will be in the conversation about the lead all night long. He always seems to be at the front of the pack.

Here is the grid for tonight’s race in Fort Worth:

1. (12) Will Power, Dallara-Chevy, 218.896

2. (67) Josef Newgarden, Dallara-Honda, 217.835

3. (10) Tony Kanaan, Dallara-Chevy, 217.826

4. (2) Juan Pablo Montoya, Dallara-Chevy, 217.724

5. (20) Ed Carpenter, Dallara-Chevy, 217.677

6. (77) Simon Pagenaud, Dallara-Honda, 217.222

7. (9) Scott Dixon, Dallara-Chevy, 217.128

8. (19) Justin Wilson, Dallara-Honda, 217.007

9. (27) James Hinchcliffe, Dallara-Honda, 216.967

10. (34) Carlos Munoz, Dallara-Honda, 216.960

11. (7) Mikhail Aleshin, Dallara-Honda, 216.880

12. (28) Ryan Hunter-Reay, Dallara-Honda, 216.823

13. (8) Ryan Briscoe, Dallara-Chevy, 216.667

14. (3) Helio Castroneves, Dallara-Chevy, 216.591

15. (83) Charlie Kimball, Dallara-Chevy, 216.151

16. (14) Takuma Sato, Dallara-Honda, 216.064

17. (25) Marco Andretti, Dallara-Honda, 215.697

18. (11) Sebastien Bourdais, Dallara-Chevy, 214.407

19. (17) Sebastian Saavedra, Dallara-Chevy, 214.156