ACC Announces Seven Bowl Agreements For 2014-19

The College Football Playoff is just one season away, and conferences everywhere are working to cement their postseason plans for the new era in college football.

On Thursday, the ACC announced partnerships with seven bowl games for six years of postseason play, beginning after the 2014 regular season and lasting through the 2019-20 postseason.

In all, the ACC will have agreements with the Orange Bowl, Russell Athletic Bowl, Sun Bowl, Belk Bowl, Pinstripe Bowl, Music City Bowl and Gator Bowl during the six years of the agreement. The league’s partnership with the Orange Bowl — the ACC will send its champion to South Florida in years the Orange Bowl does not host a College Football Playoff semifinal — runs for 12 years.

According to the official release, additional bowl partnerships for the same time frame are expected in the near future. One reason for an additional game will be Notre Dame’s arrival as a partial ACC member in 2014.