2014 U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame Class Revealed

The 2014 U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame class will be inducted in Minnesota in December, and they have announced who will be honored.

According to USA Today Sports, women’s hockey legend Karyn Bye Dietz precedes NHL defenseman Brian Rafalski and veteran coaches Lou Vairo and Jeff Sauer will be inducted in. Dietz, considered to be one of the pioneers of women’s hockey, has already been inducted into the International Ice Hockey Federation Hall of Fame.

Rafalski played 15 seasons of professional hockey and won three Stanley Cups. He helped USA win the silver medal at the 2002 and 2010 Olympic Games.

Sauer has spent more than 40 years in coaching, racking up 655 wins as a college hockey coach. This year, he coached the 2014 U.S. Paralympic sled hockey team to a gold medal in Sochi, Russia.

Vairo was a scout for the 1980 U.S. Olympic team, a head coach of the 1984 team and an assistant on the silver-medal team in 2002.

Ron DeGregorio, president of USA Hockey, told USA Today that he’s very proud of the 2014 class.

“The class of 2014 is an extraordinary collection of individuals that have had an immensely positive impact on hockey in our country. Cumulatively, they have been involved at every level of hockey and this group is a big reason why our sport has advanced to the point it has in the United States.”