Source: Mike Axisa, CBS Sports
During the broadcast of Game 4 of the World Series on Sunday night, Ken Rosenthal of Fox Sports reported on-air that MLB plans to review the obstruction rule over the winter in the wake of the dramatic ending to Game 3. As you know, Allen Craig was allowed to score the winning run on an obstruction call after tripping over Will Middlebrooks at third base.
Specifically, Rosenthal said the league will review the “intent” portion of the obstruction rule. Under the current rule, the defender does not have to intentionally impede the runner — it certainly looked like the contact between Middlebrooks and Craig was accidental — for obstruction to be called.
Rosenthal indicated the league will look into limiting obstruction calls to intentional contact only and “forgiving” accidental contact.