2013 Silver Slugger Award Winners Announced

The Silver Slugger is awarded to the best offensive players at each position in each league.

The National League honors go to (C) Yadier Molina – St. Louis Cardinals, (1b) Paul Goldscmidt – Arizona Diamondbacks, (2b) Matt Carpenter – St. Louis Cardinals, (SS) Ian Desmond – Washington Nationals, (3b) Pedro Alvarez – Pittsburgh Pirates( LF) Michael Cuddyer – Colorado Rockies, (CF) Andrew McCutchen – Pittsburgh Pirates, (RF) Jay Bruce– Cincinnati Reds, (P) Zack Greinke – Los Angeles Dodgers

The American League honors go to (C) Joe Mauer – Minnesota Twins, (1b) Chris Davis – Baltimore Orioles, (2b) Robinson Cano – New York Yankees, (SS) J.J. Hardy – Baltimore Orioles, (3b) Miguel Cabrera – Detroit Tigers,  (LF) Mike Trout – Los Angeles Angels,  (CF) Adam Jones – Baltimore Orioles, (LF) Torii Hunter – Detroit Tigers, (DH) David Ortiz – Boston Red Sox

Here’s how the players stack up statistically.

The National League Winners:

NL Silver Sluggers

The American League Winners:

AL Silver Slugger Award Winners



I am a fan of all sports but am most passionate about baseball. From the fanatical to analytical, nothing about the game escapes me. Being born and raised in Northeast Ohio I'm very familiar with the heartache and pain that sports can bring and hope that I bring some understanding of the other side to my coverage. I will focus mostly on baseball but also cover the Tampa Bay Lightning, one of the most electric franchises in all of sports. Always willing to converse about any sport and have only one rule and that is be respectful at all times.