- Sports Talk Florida - http://www.sportstalkflorida.com -

Kevin Harvick wins the Coca-Cola 600

Posted By James Williams On May 28, 2013 @ 10:11 AM In Florida News,Insider Main,Legacy,NASCAR | 1 Comment

[1]

Kevin Harvick is all smiles after his Coca Cola 600 win Sunday night. (Photo: Paul Stout)

The Coca Cola 600 is the longest race on the NASCAR Sprint Cup [2] schedule and there is no doubt that only the strong survive. Sunday night almost Monday morning it was Kevin Harvick [3] who was the winner.

Harvick who made a late race decision to take on four new tires ran away from Kasey Kahne [4] on a restart with 11 laps left to win the Coca-Cola 600 for the second time in three seasons.

The race was stopped for over 30 minutes when a TV camera support rope snapped causing it to crash to the ground. According to the Savannah Morning News - Fox Sports   [5]says a full investigation is under way and use of the camera is suspended indefinitely. Earlier, NASCAR said it would wait for Fox Sports to conclude its review before deciding if such technology would be used in the future.

Charlotte Motor Speedway said 10 people were injured when part of the drive rope landed in the grandstand; three were taken to hospitals. All were checked out and released soon after.

Several drivers, including then-leader Kyle Busch [6], reported damage to their cars from the rope. NASCAR spokesman Kerry Tharp told The Associated Press on Monday that there were no plans to use the system at upcoming races “so we’ll have ample time to review.”

Back to the race action – Kahne led 156 laps and appeared to have the fastest car in the field.  But Harvick followed the low line after the last of 11 cautions and slowly pulled away.

Harvick won two years ago when Dale Earnhardt Jr [7]. ran out of gas 700 feet from the finish line. Kahne finished second, Kurt Busch [8] third and pole-sitter Denny Hamlin [9] was fourth in his second full race since returning from injury.

Next up for the Sprint Cup gang will be Sunday at the Monster Mile [9] in Dover, Delaware for the Fed Ex 400 benefitting Autism Speaks. The race will air on Fox at 1 p.m. ET


Article printed from Sports Talk Florida: http://www.sportstalkflorida.com

URL to article: http://www.sportstalkflorida.com/kevin-harvick-wins-the-coca-cola-600/

URLs in this post:

[1] Image: http://www.sportstalkflorida.com/kevin-harvick-wins-the-coca-cola-600/kevin-harvick/

[2] NASCAR Sprint Cup: http://www.nascar.com/en_us/sprint-cup-series/news-media.html

[3] Kevin Harvick: http://www.nascar.com/en_us/sprint-cup-series/drivers/kevin-harvick.html

[4] Kasey Kahne: http://www.nascar.com/en_us/sprint-cup-series/drivers/kasey-kahne.html

[5] Fox Sports  : http://www.usatoday.com/story/sports/nascar/2013/05/26/coca-cola-600-cable-cord-caution-nascar-sprint-cup/2362613/

[6] Kyle Busch: http://www.nascar.com/en_us/sprint-cup-series/drivers/kyle-busch.html

[7] Dale Earnhardt Jr: http://www.nascar.com/en_us/sprint-cup-series/drivers/dale-earnhardt-jr.html

[8] Kurt Busch: http://www.nascar.com/en_us/sprint-cup-series/drivers/kurt-busch.html

[9] Denny Hamlin: http://www.nascar.com/en_us/sprint-cup-series/drivers/denny-hamlin.html

Copyright © 2011 ESPN Florida. All rights reserved.