- - http://www.sportstalkflorida.com -

Indians Francona and Pirates Hurdle Win Manager of the Year Award

Posted By Steve Kinsella On November 13, 2013 @ 10:06 AM In main feature,MLB,watch now | No Comments

Indians Francona and Pirates Hurdle Win Manager of the Year Award

The Baseball Writers Association of America (BBWAA) handed down their second major award of the offseason naming the Cleveland Indians Terry Francona [1] as the American League Top Manager and Clint Hurdle [2] of the Pittsburgh Pirates the National League Top Manager.

Francona [3]Francona was an instrumental force in attracting free agents such as Nick Swisher [4] and Michael Bourn [5] to the shores of Lake Erie as well as guiding an Indians team that lost 94 games to a American League Wild Card spot and 92-70 record. The 24 game turnaround was tied for the best ever in franchise history with the 1986 squad.

Hurdle guided the energetic Pirates to their first playoff appearance since 1992 and in the process ended a 20-year losing streak. Each of the last two seasons the Pirates seemed poised for a late season run only to collapse but in 2013 the team excelled down the stretch to win the NL Wild Card and end the season with 94 wins marking a 15 game improvement from the 2012 season (79-83).

Francona received a total of 112 votes including 16 first place votes to finish slightly ahead of Boston Red Sox skipper John Farrell [6] who finished with 96 votes including 12 first place votes. Oakland Athletics manager Bob Melvin [7] finished third with 36 votes including two first place votes. Full ballots for each member of the BBWAA here [8].

Clint Hurdle [9]The vote wasn’t nearly as close in the Senior Circuit as Clint Hurdle amassed 140 votes including 25 votes to finish ahead of the Los Angeles Dodgers Don Mattingly [10] who received 68 votes and just two first place votes. Fredi Gonzalez [11] of the Atlanta Braves finished third with 43 votes including three first place votes. Full ballots for each member of the BBWAA here [12].


Clint Hurdle talks about winning NL Manager of the Year:

MLB.com Discusses Terry Francona & Why He Won AL Manager Of The Year:

Indians Francona and Pirates Hurdle Win Manager of the Year Award by

Article printed from : http://www.sportstalkflorida.com

URL to article: http://www.sportstalkflorida.com/indians-francona-and-pirates-hurdle-win-manager-of-the-year-award/

URLs in this post:

[1] Terry Francona: http://www.baseball-reference.com/players/f/francte01.shtml?utm_campaign=Linker&utm_source=direct&utm_medium=linker-www.sportstalkflorida.com

[2] Clint Hurdle: http://www.baseball-reference.com/players/h/hurdlcl01.shtml?utm_campaign=Linker&utm_source=direct&utm_medium=linker-www.sportstalkflorida.com

[3] Image: http://www.sportstalkflorida.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/11/Francona.jpg

[4] Nick Swisher: http://www.baseball-reference.com/players/s/swishni01.shtml?utm_campaign=Linker&utm_source=direct&utm_medium=linker-www.sportstalkflorida.com

[5] Michael Bourn: http://www.baseball-reference.com/players/b/bournmi01.shtml?utm_campaign=Linker&utm_source=direct&utm_medium=linker-www.sportstalkflorida.com

[6] John Farrell: http://www.baseball-reference.com/player_search.cgi?results=farrejo03,farrejo02,farrel010joh&utm_campaign=Linker&utm_source=direct&utm_medium=linker-www.sportstalkflorida.com

[7] Bob Melvin: http://www.baseball-reference.com/players/m/melvibo01.shtml?utm_campaign=Linker&utm_source=direct&utm_medium=linker-www.sportstalkflorida.com

[8] Full ballots for each member of the BBWAA here: http://bbwaa.com/13-al-mgr/

[9] Image: http://www.sportstalkflorida.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/09/Clint-Hurdle.jpg

[10] Don Mattingly: http://www.baseball-reference.com/players/m/mattido01.shtml?utm_campaign=Linker&utm_source=direct&utm_medium=linker-www.sportstalkflorida.com

[11] Fredi Gonzalez: http://www.baseball-reference.com/players/g/gonzafr99.shtml?utm_campaign=Linker&utm_source=direct&utm_medium=linker-www.sportstalkflorida.com

[12] Full ballots for each member of the BBWAA here: http://bbwaa.com/13-nl-mgr/

Copyright © 2011 ESPN Florida. All rights reserved.