- - http://www.sportstalkflorida.com -

Gators Will Miss Players in Spring Practice

Posted By Sports Talk Florida On March 11, 2014 @ 3:43 PM In College,Florida News,Insider - College Football,Insider - Gators,Insider Main | No Comments

GAINESVILLE, Fla. —  Florida coach Will Muschamp said the Gators will open spring practice on Wednesday March 19th with nine players out due to injury, including three starters.

According to ESPN, Junior running back Matt Jones [1] (torn meniscus) and senior defensive tackle Leon Orr [2] (fractured wrist) were starters in 2013, while senior wide receiver/kick returner Andre Debose [3] had been a starter before missing all of last season with a torn ACL. Muschamp said Debose is expected to be medically cleared to return March 28 but will wear a non-contact jersey.

There are three linebackers out of the mix as well–sophomores Alex Anzalone [4] (shoulder) and Jeremi Powell [5] (torn ACL) and redshirt freshman Matt Rolen (torn ACL). They won’t be medically cleared until after spring practice. All three are rehabbing after surgery for injuries suffered last fall.

The other injured Gators are sophomore tight end Colin Thompson [6] (foot) and two true freshmen early enrollees.

Muschamp also said senior Max Garcia [7], UF’s only returning offensive lineman who started every game last season, will move to center to replace graduated starter Jonotthan Harrison [8].

For more on this story visit: Jeff Barlis, ESPN [9]

Gators Will Miss Players in Spring Practice by

Article printed from : http://www.sportstalkflorida.com

URL to article: http://www.sportstalkflorida.com/gators-will-miss-players-in-spring-practice/

URLs in this post:

[1] Matt Jones: http://espn.go.com/college-football/player/_/id/535917/matt-jones

[2] Leon Orr: http://espn.go.com/college-football/player/_/id/503971/leon-orr

[3] Andre Debose: http://espn.go.com/college-football/player/_/id/480211/andre-debose

[4] Alex Anzalone: http://espn.go.com/college-football/player/_/id/546305/alex-anzalone

[5] Jeremi Powell: http://espn.go.com/college-football/player/_/id/535928/jeremi-powell

[6] Colin Thompson: http://espn.go.com/college-football/player/_/id/535932/colin-thompson

[7] Max Garcia: http://espn.go.com/college-football/player/_/id/501104/max-garcia

[8] Jonotthan Harrison: http://espn.go.com/college-football/player/_/id/482720/jonotthan-harrison

[9] Jeff Barlis, ESPN: http://espn.go.com/college-football/story/_/id/10590095/florida-gators-enter-spring-practice-nine-players?utm_source=twitterfeed&utm_medium=twitter

Copyright © 2011 ESPN Florida. All rights reserved.