- - http://www.sportstalkflorida.com -

Dungy and Brooks on the Hall of Fame ballot

Posted By James Williams On November 21, 2013 @ 7:54 AM In 1040 Sports,1080 Sports,Florida News,Insider Main,main feature,NFL,Sports Media | No Comments

Former Bucs head coach Tony Dungy is on the Pro Football Hall of Fame ballot for 2014 [1]

Former Bucs head coach Tony Dungy is on the Pro Football Hall of Fame ballot for 2014

According to NBC Sports, former Tampa Bay Buccaneer coach Tony Dungy and a man he coached,  linebacker Derrick Brooks are first-time semifinalists for the Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 2014. Another Dungy coached star is also on the list and that would be Colts wide receiver Marvin Harrison.

Dungy, Brooks, Harrison and offensive lineman Walter Jones are the four people eligible for the first time this year among the class of 25 semifinalists. That group of 25 was announced today from a previously announced list of 126 nominees.

The others on the list of 25 semifinalists are kicker Morten Andersen, safety Steve Atwater, running back Jerome Bettis, receiver Tim Brown, coach Don Coryell, running back Roger Craig, running back Terrell Davis, owner Edward DeBartolo, linebacker Kevin Greene, linebacker Charles Haley, tackle Joe Jacoby, coach Jimmy Johnson, safety John Lynch, linebacker Karl Mecklenburg, receiver Andre Reed, guard Will Shields, defensive end Michael Strahan, commissioner Paul Tagliabue, cornerback Aeneas Williams, guard Steve Wisniewski and executive George Young.

The 25 semifinalists will be reduced by mail ballot to a list of 15 finalists, and those 15 — plus senior nominees Ray Guy and Claude Humphrey — will be voted on the day before the Super Bowl

Article printed from : http://www.sportstalkflorida.com

URL to article: http://www.sportstalkflorida.com/dungy-and-brooks-on-the-hall-of-fame-ballot/

URLs in this post:

[1] Image: http://www.sportstalkflorida.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/11/Former-Bucs-head-coach-Tony-Dungy-is-on-the-Pro-Football-Hall-of-Fame-ballot-for-2014.jpg

Copyright © 2011 ESPN Florida. All rights reserved.