sportstalkflorida.com News

David Price Set To Take On Giants Lincecum, Lineups

The Tampa Bay Rays will look to even their series with the San Francisco Giants. ?They will be looking to avoid their first 3 game losing streak since June 16 (KC) and June 18 (doubleheader loss to Red Sox). ?They are 10-0-2 in the 12 series since dropping 2 out of 3 to the Red Sox on June 18th and 19th.

The Rays will send reigning Cy Young winner David Price (6-5, 3.57 ERA) against former NL Cy Young winner Tim Lincecum (5-11, 4.61 ERA).

It is only the second matchup of Cy Young winners in Rays history ?- the first coming on May 9th when David Price took on R.A. Dickey of the Toronto Blue Jays (2012 NL Cy Young with Mets).

Since coming off the DL David Price is 5-1 with a 1.68 ERA working 48.1 innings allowing 9R/ER on 33 hits striking out 34 and walking just 1.

Lincecum has struggled this season and the Giants have lost 11 of his last 13 starts. The Giants do not provide him with run support as they have scored 2 runs or fewer in 13 of his 21 starts. He gets the least run support on the Giants and the 14th lowest in the major leagues at 3.69 runs per game.

Matt Joyce will be celebrating his 29th birthday but is not in tonight's lineup versus the right handed Tim Lincecum. In his career Joyce is 5-11 (.455) with 3 walks, 1 double, ?and 1 RBI in 4 games.

When asked why Kelly Johnson was selected to start in left field in place of Joyce Joe Maddon said, "overall, he's [Matt Joyce] been off a little bit, the consistent hard contact hasn't been what it has in the past. His command of his own personal - this guys probably had as good of command of his own personal strike zone as anybody we've had and that's been off just a little bit - although he's gotten better more recently."


Desmond Jennings (CF), Ben Zobrist (2b), Evan Longoria (3b), Wil Myers (RF), James Loney (1b), Yunel Escobar (SS), Luke Scott (DH), Jose Molina (C), Kelly Johnson (LF)

Andres Torres (CF), Marco Scutaro (DH), Pablo Sandoval (3b), Buster Posey (C), Hunter Pence (RF), Brett Pill (1b), Jeff Francouer (LF), Joaquin Arias (2b), Brandon Crawford (SS)


our editors