Report: SEC Finalizing Bowl Agreements

It looks like the Allstate Sugar Bowl and Discover Orange Bowl will be a part of the SEC bowl equation going forward.

ESPN’s Brett McMurphy is reporting that beginning in 2014 the next highest-ranked SEC team after any SEC teams are selected for the College Football Playoff will head to the Sugar Bowl. In addition, in years the Orange Bowl does not host the national semifinals, a team from the SEC, Big Ten or Notre Dame will play in the Orange Bowl against the ACC.

From that point, the Capital One Bowl in Orlando, Fla., will get the next pick of SEC teams, according to McMurphy.

Six other bowls will then pool together and share picks. They are the AutoZone Liberty (Miami), Belk (Charlotte, N.C.), Franklin American Mortgage Music City (Nashville, Tenn.), Outback (Tampa, Fla.), Gator (Jacksonville, Fla.) and Texas (Houston).

In the Capital One Bowl, an SEC team will face a Big Ten team unless a Big Ten team is chosen for the Orange Bowl. When that occurs, the ACC would replace a Big Ten team to face the SEC.

The SEC’s opponents in each of the next six shared bowls are: Belk (ACC), Gator (ACC/Big Ten), Music City (ACC/Big Ten), Liberty (Big 12), Outback (Big Ten) and Texas (Big 12).

Source: Chris Low,