Bader Named To SEC All-Freshman Team

Outfielder Harrison Bader (Bronxville, N.Y.) earned a berth on the SEC All-Freshman Team announced by the league office on Tuesday. A Gator freshman has now made the team in all six years of head coach Kevin O’Sullivan’s tenure: Josh Adams (2008), Preston Tucker (2009), Nolan Fontana, Brian Johnson, Austin Maddox, Hudson Randall & Mike Zunino (2010), Zack Powers & Karsten Whitson (2011) and Josh Tobias (2012).

Starting all 30 of the Gators’ league contests, Bader ranked second on the squad with a .307 batting average, tied for second on the club with 13 RBI, tied for fourth with 14 runs and led Florida with seven stolen bases in eight attempts. He has seen action in all 57 games this season for UF, with 55 starts, and is hitting .304 with 35 runs, 22 RBI, 18 walks, seven doubles and a pair of triples and is a team-best 14-for-19 on the basepaths. Third-seeded Florida (29-28) opens NCAA Bloomington Regional action on Friday when it faces second-seeded Austin Peay (45-13) at 1 p.m. on ESPN3.

Vanderbilt junior second baseman Tony Kemp was the SEC Player of the Year, LSU sophomore right-hander Aaron Nola was selected as the SEC Pitcher of the Year, LSU shortstop Alex Bregman was named the SEC Freshman of the Year, Sam Frost of Mississippi State was named the SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year and Vanderbilt’s Tim Corbin was the SEC Coach of the Year.