Winston named ACC Player of the year

Winston nabs ACC honor.
Winston nabs ACC honor.

Just one day after being named ACC Rookie of the Year, and perhaps just a week and a half before taking home the Heisman Trophy, Florida State quarterback Jameis Winston was recognized with yet another honor on Wednesday afternoon.

The redshirt freshman was the overwhelming choice for ACC Player of the Year, receiving 47 of a possible 65 first-place votes. Winston became the first underclassmen in conference history to earn the honor.

Also receiving votes were Boston College running back Andre Williams (13), Pittsburgh defensive lineman Aaron Donald (four) and Clemson quarterback Tajh Boyd (one). Donald was also the overwhelming choice for Defensive Player of the Year.

With Winston’s selection in 2013, there have now been five FSU players named ACC Player of the Year — Winston, Chris Weinke (2000), Andre Wadsworth (1997), Danny Kanell (1995) and Charlie Ward (1992, 1993).

When Winston met with the media for his weekly press conference on Wednesday, the award had still yet to be announced. But, as always, the star QB wanted to talk about his teammates anyway.

“I’ve got great people around me, I’ve got great teammates around me,” Winston said. “When you’ve got a family like this. When you’ve got teammates who say, ‘Man, I got your back. I’m here with you.’ That’s how you become a better person, a better player.

“And you want to go out there and perform on Saturdays.”

Winston has completed 68.8 percent of his passes for 3,490 yards, a school-record 35 touchdown passes and eight interceptions. He is the overwhelming favorite to win the Heisman Trophy next Saturday in New York.

But he said he’s not thinking about that at all.

“I‘m just focusing on the ACC championship this week,” Winston said. “We’ve got to prepare for this week. And that time will come.”

The quotes used in this story came from Associated Press.