Hartford gets AAC hoops in 2015 – Orlando to host ’16 & and ’17

The XL Center in Hartford will host the AAC tournament in 2015
The XL Center in Hartford will host the AAC tournament in 2015

The defending National Champion UConn Huskies will not have to go far to play in the 2014-2015 AAC Men’s college basketball tournament. But it look’s like the Central Florida Sports Commission will announce a deal to bring the American Athletic Conference tournament to the Amway Center in 2016 and 2017, that announcement is likely to come later this week.

Commissioner Mike Aresco has announced that the XL Center in Hartford, Conn., has been chosen as the site of the 2015 American Athletic Conference Men’s Basketball Championship.

“We are pleased to bring our 2015 men’s basketball championship to the city of Hartford and to this outstanding arena,” said Aresco. “The success of UConn’s men’s and women’s teams this year has made Connecticut the center of college basketball nationally. This event will enjoy tremendous fan support and our visitors will enjoy the many attractions in Hartford and its surrounding communities.”

The XL Center has hosted a number of NCAA Championship men’s and women’s basketball games, was the site of the Big East Women’s Basketball Championship from 1994-2013 and previously served as a home site for the NBA’s Boston Celtics.

As for the announcement of Orlando’s Amway Center hosting the 2016 and 2017 Men’s Basketball Tournament’s the announcement will come later this week according to the commissioner.  The goal is to roate the tournament around the conference so that the AAC gives all the region’s of the country that it represents a chance to see the event.

But at least for the next three years we know where the Men’s Championship Tournament will be held.

Dates for the 2015 championship will be announced in the coming weeks.

All 11 American Athletic Conference schools will participate in the 2015 championship. The format calls for three first-round games on the first day, followed by four quarterfinal games, two semifinals and the championship game. The ESPN Networks will provide television and digital coverage of the tournament.

The 2014-15 season will be the second straight year in which the American Athletic Conference has the defending men’s and women’s NCAA champions in its ranks. The American was the only conference to place a team in the semifinals of the Men’s Final Four, the Women’s Final Four, the NIT and the WNIT this past season.

The American’s membership in 2014-15 will comprise UCF, Cincinnati, UConn, East Carolina, Houston, Memphis, USF, SMU, Temple, Tulane and Tulsa.