sportstalkflorida.com News

2014 East-West Shrine Game Saturday at Tropicana Field

East-West Shrine Game

Throughout the history of the East-West Shrine Game, players have been chosen because they are the very best in the country. In fact, there are?246 former East-West Shrine Game?players on current NFL rosters.

Each year the players visit a Shriners Hospitals for Children as part of their game-week activities. For many players, this visit is an opportunity to develop a philanthropic relationship that can last a lifetime.

The East-West Shrine Game will take place at Tropicana Field in St. Petersburg on Saturday January 18th at 4 PM. It is the longest running All-Star college football game.

Coaching the East-West Shrine Game is as significant an honor as playing. The coaches are former NFL coaches selected for their knowledge, experience and accomplishments throughout their careers. Each head coach brings along with him three of his own assistant coaches to round out his lead team.

Here is the 2014 roster:


Coach:?Jerry Glanville


Jimmy Garoppolo, Eastern Illinois

Jordan Lynch, Northern Illinois

Jeff Mathews, Cornell

Running backs

Zach Bauman, Northern Arizona

Rajion Neal, Tennessee

LaDarius Perkins, Mississippi State


Alex Bayer (TE), Bowling Green

Jeremy Gallon, Michigan

Crockett Gillmore (TE), Colorado State

Matt Hazel, Coastal Carolina

Allen Hurns, Miami (Fla.)

Blake Jackson (TE), Oklahoma State

Patrick Laird, Army

Ja'mes Logan, Mississippi

Erik Lora, Eastern Illinois

Offensive linemen

Justin Britt (OT), Missouri (injured)

Kyle Bryant (OT), Youngstown State

Laurent Duvernay-Tardiff (OT), McGill (Canada)

Chris Elkins (C), Youngstown State

Matt Feiler (OT), Bloomsburg

Zach Fulton (G), Tennessee

Matt Hall (OT), Belhaven (Miss.)

Donald Hawkins (OT), Texas

Zac Kerin (C), Toledo

Antwan Lowery (G), Rutgers

James Stone (C), Tennessee

John Urschel (G), Penn State

Defensive linemen

Jason Bromley, Syracuse

Will Clarke, West Virginia

Bruce Gaston, Purdue

Zachariah Kerr, Delaware

Demonte McAllister, Florida State

Garrison Smith, Georgia

Ethan Westbrooks, West Texas A&M

Kerry Wynn, Richmond


Xavius Boyd, Western Kentucky

Preston Brown, Louisville

Glenn Carson, Penn State

Andrew Jackson, Western Kentucky

Derrell Johnson, East Carolina

DeDe (Devekeyan) Lattimore, South Florida

Johnny Millard, Cal Poly

Cody Peterson, Navy (injured)

Defensive backs

Ricardo Allen (CB), Purdue

Tre Boston (S), North Carolina

Travis Carrie (CB), Ohio (injured)

Ross Cockrell (CB), Duke

Pierre Desir (CB), Lindenwood

Phillip Gaines (CB), Rice

Andre Hal (CB), Vanderbilt

Nevin Lawson (CB), Utah State

A.J. Marshall (S), Wake Forest

Hakeem Smith (S), Louisville

Dezmen Southward (S), Wisconsin (injured)

Jemea Thomas (S), Georgia Tech


Steven Clark (P), Auburn

Zach Hocker (K), Arkansas


Coach:?Romeo Crennel


Keith Price, Washington

Tommy Rees, Notre Dame

Keith Wenning, Ball State

Running backs

Brennan Clay, Oklahoma

Timothy Flanders, Sam Houston State

Anthony LaCoste, Air Force

Ben Malena, Texas A&M


Ted Bolser (TE), Indiana

John Brown, Pittsburg State

Quincy Enunwa, Nebraska

Kaneakua Friel (TE), BYU

Chandler Jones, San Jose State

Seantavius Jones, Valdosta State

TJ Jones, Notre Dame (injured)

Jordan Najvar (TE), Baylor

Bernard Reedy, Toledo

Offensive linemen

Christopher Burnette (G), Georgia

Dakota Dozier (G), Furman

Dillon Farrell (C), New Mexico

Kevin Graf (OT), Southern California

Ryan Groy (G), Wisconsin

Gabe Ikard (C), Oklahoma

Danny Kistler, Jr. (OT), Montana

Charles Leno, Jr. (OT), Boise State

Jeremiah Sirles (OT), Nebraska

Austin Wentworth (G), Frenso State

Khalil Wilkes (C), Stanford

Defensive linemen

Beau Allen, Wisconsin

Justin Ellis, Louisiana Tech

Evan Gil, Manitoba (Canada)

Derrick Hopkins, Virginia Tech

Cassius Marsh, UCLA

Josh Mauro, Stanford

Zach Moore, Concordia (injured)

Chidera Uzo-Diribe, Colorado

Larry Webster III, Bloomsburg


Shaquil Barrett, Colorado State

Max Bullough, Michigan State

Nate Dreiling, Pittsburg State

Devon Kennard, Southern California

Prince Shembo, Notre Dame

Tyler Starr, South Dakota

Defensive backs

Bene Benwikere (CB), San Jose State

Carrington Byndom (CB), Texas

Alden Darby (S), Arizona State

E.J. Gaines (CB), Missouri

Bennett Jackson (CB), Notre Dame

Daytawion Lowe (S), Oklahoma State

Stephen Obeng-Agyapong (S), Penn State

Sean Parker (S), Washington

Rashaad Reynolds (CB), Oregon State

Shaquille Richardson (CB), Arizona

Daniel Sorensen (S), BYU

Brock Vereen (S), Minnesota

Marcus Williams (CB), North Dakota State


Anthony Fera (K), Texas

Richie Leone (P), Houston

For more information, please visit NFL.com and shrinegame.com.


our editors